dbailesdev

HCP
Local club/country
BOWOOD GOLF & COUNTRY CLUB
Irons
MX17
Driver
PING RAPTURE
This is simple, or at least you think it would be.
I have been using MX17 irons for the last 3/4 years.
3 to PW with a T zoid Pro SW (not changing that).
Standard lie, standard loft, standard length steel shafts,(sounds pretty boring I know)but they have been good servants.

7 iron normally 140yds (standard British weather), all other irons up/down from this in incremants of 10 yds, ie: 3 iron 180yds, PW 100yds.

So the question/topic is - what Mizuno irons do I replace them with?
H/cap 19 so need something quite forgiving.

MP32LEFTIE

HCP
Local club/country
WYCHWOOD PARK CHESHIRE
Irons
MIZUNO MP32 3-PW + 52 56 +60
Driver
TAYLORMADE R7 SUPERQUAD
Simple mate, get fitted. You need to try several and take advise from a pro, if your going to spend your hard earned cash you might as well take advantage from the experience and training from a good fitting centre. (dont listen to the numpties in american golf though, they aint no pro's)
To give you an example-
I had my 2nd set of MP32's fitted for me. The set I first had were std with regular flex shaft. I hit pw 115 yrds slight draw mid flight
7 iron 165 yrds slight draw.
With the custom fitted set loft and lie are still std but they fitted a stiffer shaft. The results were that my pw now goes 110 yrds with a lot higher straight flight and produces more back spin and is a lot more controlable. 7 iron again has a more penertrating flight and better control without loss of distance. I was told that shaft flex isnt just to do with swing speed it is also affected by the amount of pressure at impact which cause the shaft to flex and gives the inital kick which affects flight line and trajectary.
Fitting is a must and im very glad i paid that little bit more and had it done. All the best.

Redrage

HCP
Local club/country
Stirling GC, Scotland
Irons
Ping i10
Driver
Mizuno MP-600 and MP-60 3 Wood