Is Custom Fit really beneficial to amateurs?

HCP
Local club/country
Greystones GC
Irons
Mizuno H4 (3,4) MP 54 (5-W) Vokey 50, 54, Ping 58
Driver
Titleist 915 D3 / 5.5 / Diamana S
I have been playing golf with a handicap between 4 and 9 for past 45 years. It is currently 7. My swing hasn't really changed over the years - just less flexible! 

Eighteen months ago I went to a premium club fitter with the intention of changing my irons (MP54s). At the end of the session, they recommended keeping the club heads and changing the shafts from KBS Tour S to KBS C Taper Lite S. They also recommended lengthening the shafts by 1/2 inch and changing the grips to golf pride plus 4. They also recommended that I DECREASE the lie angle by 1 degree. 

Recently I went to a Mizuno fitting with the intention of purchasing JPX 900 Forged - just for a change. Lovely club but the recommendation I received was my new order should the lengthen the shaft by 1/4 inch and to INCREASE the lie angle by 2 degree. 

That's a difference of 3 degrees which is huge. 

I am a reasonable ball striker yet the recommended variation in lie angle is significant. I do not argue that the recommendations were wrong - simply that as amateurs we have good, average and bad swings days which probably makes an accurate custom fitting impossible and perhaps, superfluous. (assuming some common sense is being applied to a purchase off the rack..) A better approach is to invest in more lessons and practice and then re evaluate. 

This experience has prompted me to "sit on my wallet" for the time being; I will probably end up ordering a set of new irons averaging out the recommendations.... 

PS: The last time (about 4 years ago) that I was fitted using the DNA - I was recommended MP64 with Project X shafts - at the fitting they were great - unfortunately they lasted 6 months as I was unable to use them. The good swing day at the fitting turned into many bad swing days on the course....  

LOS

Local club/country