HCP
Local club/country
Royal Cape South Africa
Irons
Waiting on 223's with Aerotech 110i S
Driver
Depends on what is available :-)
Hi all

Not sure if been posted before but I need to know what effect the shanging of shaft settings have on the performance of shafts. I’ve been playing golf for 30 years and have always spined my shafts. From driver to wedges.
With the new adjustable drivers where the actual shaft turns to new setting obviously the spine changes. I have a tour spec shaft which will go into my ST190G shortly but am a bit concerned it may affect the performance. I know the modern shaft are way better but surely in graphite spine still valid. Any other members that have seen difference in feel and performance with changing the settings?

Regards

Cassie

MrK20

Local club/country
Germany
Irons
Mizuno / MP 20 HMB; MP 20; T20 / 2; 3-9; 49, 54, 60, Nippon Modus 120 S
Driver
Mizuno / ST-Z / D, 3W, 5W / JPX900 22H / CLK 25H. MRC Diamana D+(D, 3W, 5W) , Fujikura SIX R(22), Fujikura Speeder Hb 85 (25)
I cannot imagine that the rotational angle in which the shaft is being put in the head makes any difference to the Performance or feel of the shaft. The shaft doesn't get twisted around any axis, it's out of the head turned and put back in, there should be no physical difference. The only Thing it should effect is the lie angle as well as the face angle and, thereby, the effective loft of the Driver.
Personally I have not felt any difference no matter the Setting in which I have my JPX 900.

DennisMiller

HCP
Old Age
Local club/country
Killian Greens Golf Club
Irons
MX-1000
Driver
ST-180
I always heard spining was much more important with steel shafts and much less important with graphite shafts. Anyone know for sure?

HCP
Local club/country
Royal Cape South Africa
Irons
Driver
Hi Dennis